Four staff have been appointed by the Armoy-based Causeway Coast & Glens Heritage Trust to deliver the Heart of the Glens Landscape Partnership Scheme (LPS).  Heritage Lottery Funding alongside support from a range of partners including the Northern Ireland Environment Agency, NI Tourist Board, Moyle, Larne, Ballymena and Ballymoney Borough and District Councils will see more than £1.8million invested in the nine Glens of Antrim.

Réamai Mathers, the newly appointed Landscape Partnership Scheme Manager commented: ‘The Causeway Coast & Glens Heritage Trust is a strong and reputable organisation which has delivered projects in the Causeway Coast & Glens area for over 11 years and I’m delighted to be part of that and hopefully continue to build on that success over the next 5 years.

This is an exciting opportunity which promises to deliver much-needed projects and funding to the Glens. Along with my LPS team I’m very eager to meet the various partners involved in the scheme and get this major project underway.

Sarah Irwin the LPS Development Manager has laid a great foundation for us.  She has developed a five year programme which will include activities to support land owners with habitat surveys; help to increase wildlife and develop a plan for the long-term management of the area.  The local community will be able to showcase their unique landscape by taking part in a diverse range of events and activities such as heritage festivals, community photography schemes and archaeology days. People will be trained and supported to help deliver some of the activities through the development of a dedicated volunteer programme. ’

Réamai introduced the team which comprises of the Landscape Project Officer, Eamon McBride; the Outreach and Volunteer Officer, Ciara OhArtghaile and the part-time Administration and Finance Officer, Cathy McClintock.

Réamai and the Heart of the Glens LPS staff can be contacted at the CCGHT office, The Old Bank, 27 Main Street, Armoy.  (028) 2075 2100 –

New staff members Cathy McClintock, Ciara OhArtghaile and Réamai Mathers
New staff members Cathy McClintock, Ciara OhArtghaile and Réamai Mathers
Search the Site